Soul food?!

Image

Subsequent to Timur’s introductory blog entry, I would also like to do some kind of Introduction into this Blog before starting with my actual analytical blog entries. In the following, I am going to explain to you why we have decided to give our blog the name soul food.

Why food?

When Irina, Timur, and I were thinking about a proper theme for our blog, we realized that there was one outstanding thing all three of us had in common: We all have a deep passion for food!

Why soul food?

As food in general is a very wide spread topic, we had to look for a blog name which on the one hand sounds interesting and mysterious to catch your attention, and on the other hand fits to the core content of this Blog.

What is meant by soul food?

Even though everyone at least has a certain association with the term „soul food“, not many of us know what soulfood exactly means. If you type „soulfood“ into google, you will mainly learn about soul food as a selection of the traditional Black American cuisine („soul“ was originally used to describe the African-American culture).

Image

In this case, however, we are going to use the term soul food in a different context:

Soul food is basically food for our soul. As a matter of fact, we do not only fill our stomach with food to satisfy our hunger, but to survive, it is also essential to feed our soul with information, insights, perceptions, love, emotions, thoughts and values…

This entry was posted in About this Blog by Lanny. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lanny

Hi There! I am Lan Anh Nguyen ("Lanny"), 21, born and raised in lovely Berlin. As my name reveals, I am of Vietnamese origin. After finishing my A-levels in 2010, I went "back to my roots" and spent 5 months in Vietnam where I did an internship at the Sales&Marketing Department of VinaCapital Ltd., one of Vietnam's current leading investment funds. In addition, I worked at the German Center as a volunteer to introduce the German language and culture to Vietnamese people, and furthermore, I participated in a social program where I gave free English classes to children in need. This time period was very special to me, as I had the opportunity to get in touch with many different people from all walks of life- learned from experiences of big bosses to regular workers to orphans from the street. By getting to know their different goals, desires and perceptions of the world, I was able to hugely broaden my horizon and strengthen my own character. Besides my passion for music and cooking, I love traveling and have special interest in foreign languages and economics. Now I am a second semester student of the International Business Management program at the Berlin School of Economics and Law. As the international and intercultural content of this business study program perfectly matches my interests and talents, I am enjoying it a lot. Moreover, I am profoundly convinced that this program will enable me excellent opportunities for an international business career I am striving for in the future.

3 thoughts on “Soul food?!

  1. i think you came up with a wonderful name for your blog. It’s creative, catchy and exquisite. Besides it makes me wonna go to the nearest cafe and order some specialty to enjoy)

    The context is very well-structured and i like that it’s more like a conversation and not like a research article, it makes it easy and interesting to read)

    • Thanks for your comment anastacia. This gives us additional motivation to keep on working on our blog as best as possible. By the way, if you still are in the mood of going to the nearest cafe to enjoy some speciality, why not trying out some bubble tea? for this, my recent blog entry “My dream in bubbles” could be of interest to you 😉

  2. A great topic,a great explanation of your chosen theme, a great name of the blog- soul food. To be honest, I opened your blog and started to read because of that blog name. I knew it’s gonna be something about food, but there was a a question left- what is meant by soul food? And so I’m in-interested and waiting for next blog posts. By the way the design of the blog is so attractive! Mmm… )))

Leave a Reply

